Sad State of the Standard American Diet

grocery

I wish I could make stuff like this up.  We are fortunate enough to live within a couple of miles from Wegmans, one of the best grocery stores in the world.  And since I have recently taken over most of the grocery shopping, I am there once or twice per week in between stops at the Farmer’s market. 

Wegmans has several checkout aisle options.  In addition to the 7  or 15 items or less aisles there’s a no-candy lane and, my favorite, the natural products checkout lane.  I just feel better surrounded by natural chocolate and dried fruitrather than the latest UPC encrusted craptacular chemical bombs of nutritionally void Satan food found in the regular checkouts.  Perhaps I am a tab bit biased. 

So this week, as I awaited the obligatorily double nose-ringed cashier to ring out my newly acquired bounty, I glanced at the conveyor belt full of items placed by the woman in line behind me.  Silly of me to think that just being in the natural products lane would attract some sort of healthier customer.  I’m sure it just happened to be the shortest lane.  The irony, however, was stellar.

Garbage product after garbage product from store brand mac and cheese (a dozen boxes)  to chips to Little Debbie snactacular chemical infusions.  Then soda, next hot dogs followed by bleached white bread.  I had to chuckle at the opposition of her items that seemed to outwardly offend the Amy’s and Newman’s and Natural Wonder‘s around them.

And then I saw it.  Something that made my retinas burn.   All natural, 100% organic, hand made with no preservatives — dog biscuits.  Dog biscuits!  Yes, of course it’s nice to know this woman is treating her dog well.  Who cares what she eats as long as she isn’t mistreating an animal that cannot make it’s own decisions, right?  Did I mention she had a little girl in the shopping cart?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments

  1. Kara said,

    August 23, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Yes! It is truly terrifying the amount of chemicals being shoveled into the bodies of the people these days. The kids have been joining me on my trips to the grocery store and produce stand (Farmer’s Market) this summer, and they have become the “high fructose corn syrup” police and chemical spotters. I think it has been a good experience for them to become aware of what they are putting in their stomachs. They have learned to read the labels and sort out the garbage from the good. Unreal how folks are more cautious about what they feed their pets as opposed to their kids and themselves.

  2. August 24, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Great site, I now have you bookmarked to come back again.

  3. MD D.C. said,

    September 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    It is called the Standard AMERICAN Diet for a reason. My in-laws from Shanghai are currently staying with me and every few days I have to take them to the Asian market for fresh produce. I have never seen them eat anything from a can. They will not drink soft drinks, but can consume a kidney punishing amount of green and black tea. My mother in law can examine a fish for ten minutes before deciding if it is fresh enough to purchase. She can examine a vegetable for imperfections as if she is searching a treasure map. I believe the poor in Asia/South/Central America eat better than the average American. My experience with them is that if it is not strictly fresh, it is not worth eating.


Leave a Reply

