Yes Is The New No

There is a truth in science.  There is a right and a wrong answer even though we may not always find either one.  Science is not a belief system and scientists try to reject assumptions that cannot be tested in favor of facts.  It’s nothing personal.  There is just a difference in pedigree between science and faith.  Which is not to say I do not hold beliefs that I have not tested.  I do. 

For example, I believe you can catch more flies with honey than vinegar though I have never tried.  I also believe I don’t want to catch any flies. I also believe I don’t believe I want those little buzzy SOB’s barnstorming my ears.  But, having the vegan tendencies as I do, I believe I don’t want to kill the little buzzy SOB’s either.  Maybe vinegar is a better choice.  I don’t know.  At least I can feel like I am doing something without harming living things.

There was a point to this somewhere. Oh, yeah.  Negative attitudes. I’ve caught some flack lately for being a tad bit negative.  Moi? No! Okay, just a titch I suppose.  I admit I don’t usually play Susie Sunshine in the grade school play when I see the stupidity on the morning lineup that can be my profession — or healthcare in general for that matter.  I call it like I see it. I think that’s part of my job.  Calling it loud and obnoxiously is just a value-added service I offer.  As my wife likes to inform me, I might, occasionally, once in a while have a hard time not saying the exact thought that pops into my mind.  She says this like it’s a bad thing.

Like the other day in a restaurant.  The waiter asked my friend, “You wanna box for that?” indicating his three leftover tortellinis.  I said, “Really? You’re going to kick his ass over a couple of tortellinis? Dude, if you want them that badly, you should just take them.”

Maybe that’s what my wife means.  Anyway, I am told this negative attitude could be bad for the profession.  I get it.  I need to have a more positive outlook and focus on the positive stuff. I need to waive the cheerleader pom-poms and rah-rah the pants off the chiropractic profession! Go00000 team!

I’d like to.  I really would. There is a lot to be positive about. At least things are moving in that direction. I need to see more greatness but there is some really good stuff going on.  I am just not sure I am the right guy to applaud mediocrity and fake cheerfulness.  I don’t think that’s what I signed on for.  Last I checked, the door I walked through said “Truth”.  At least that’s what I thought it said.   Maybe it just said “Push”.  I saw it as the same thing.

 

Dr. Brett L. Kinsler is a chiropractor in Rochester, NY who is working on his negative attitude problem.

7 Comments

  1. Timothy Mirtz said,

    June 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    You know what? Not everyone can be Suzie Sunshine in science. In fact, science, by its very nature, is skeptical. Skeptical people are always accused by the pseudoscientists of being “negative” thinkers. This is because scientists demand evidence before they can be totally accepted. Those who desire to see evidence of a claim are always accused by the purveyor of claims as being “close-minded.”

    Great article. No need to work on a negative attitude. I happen to believe the Suzie Sunshines of the science world are more detrimental to the scientific process because they cannot discern reality.

    Keep up the good work.

  2. June 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Personally, I was waiting to see if your head was actually going to explode.

  3. June 26, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    One more thing………the cartoon is brilliant!

  4. June 27, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    From one anti-Susie Sunshine to another: thank you Dr. Mirtz.

  5. June 27, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I think writing this post took just enough pressure out of my head that it will not explode…this week.

  6. John said,

    July 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

    When you step in the world of helping sick and hurting people get well the sooner you realize that there is much more that just cold, sterile science and exams the better for you and the patients. If you can’t grasp that then maybe you belong in a lab or facility producing the research we all would love to read.

    Just a thought..

  7. John said,

    July 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    So doc,
    I visited a Graston seminar held with any tri-mester student they wanted to come. In a small hotel room…

    I wonder if I could get a little honestly? Is the Advanced Graston really anything advanced? If so, I may actually check it out.


Leave a Reply

